Bharat Ratna Award Winners List: Year-Wise Celebration of India's Highest Honor

The Bharat Ratna, India's most prestigious civilian award, recognizes exceptional service and achievement. This title, translating to "Jewel of India," is bestowed upon individuals who have made profound contributions in various fields.

Those curious about the Bharat Ratna Award winners list year-wise will find a wealth of information here. We'll explore the history of this esteemed honor and delve into the remarkable recipients who have been recognized.

A Brief History of the Bharat Ratna

Established in 1954, the Bharat Ratna has adorned some of India's most illustrious figures. Initially, the award wasn't given posthumously, but this provision was added in 1966. Interestingly, there's no restriction on nationality, with a few awards being presented to non-Indians who made significant contributions to India or humanity.

Celebrating the Awardees: A Year-Wise Look

There's no fixed number of Bharat Ratna awards given annually. The maximum limit is three, but in 2024, five exceptional individuals received this recognition. To explore the complete list of Bharat Ratna awardees by year, numerous reliable sources are available online.

  • 2024: M. S. Swaminathan
  • 2024: Charan Singh
  • 2024: P. V. Narasimha Rao
  • 2024: L. K. Advani
  • 2024: Karpoori Thakur
  • 2019: Nanaji Deshmukh
  • 2019: Bhupen Hazarika
  • 2019: Pranab Mukherjee
  • 2015: Madan Mohan Malaviya
  • 2015: Atal Bihari Vajpayee
  • 2014: Sachin Tendulkar
  • 2014: C. N. R. Rao
  • 2009: Bhimsen Joshi
  • 2001: Bismillah Khan
  • 2001: Lata Mangeshkar
  • 1999: Ravi Shankar
  • 1999: Gopinath Bordoloi
  • 1999: Amartya Sen
  • 1999: Jayaprakash Narayan
  • 1998: C. Subramaniam
  • 1998: M. S. Subbulakshmi
  • 1997: A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
  • 1997: Aruna Asaf Ali
  • 1997: Gulzarilal Nanda
  • 1992: Satyajit Ray
  • 1992: J. R. D. Tata
  • 1992: Abul Kalam Azad
  • 1991: Morarji Desai
  • 1991: Vallabhbhai Patel
  • 1991: Rajiv Gandhi
  • 1990: Nelson Mandela
  • 1990: B. R. Ambedkar
  • 1988: M. G. Ramachandran
  • 1987: Abdul Ghaffar Khan
  • 1983: Vinoba Bhave
  • 1980: Mother Teresa
  • 1976: K. Kamaraj
  • 1975: V. V. Giri
  • 1971: Indira Gandhi
  • 1966: Lal Bahadur Shastri
  • 1963: Pandurang Vaman Kane
  • 1963: Zakir Husain
  • 1962: Rajendra Prasad
  • 1961: Purushottam Das Tandon
  • 1961: Bidhan Chandra Roy
  • 1958: Dhondo Keshav Karve
  • 1957: Govind Ballabh Pant
  • 1955: Jawaharlal Nehru
  • 1955: M. Visvesvaraya
  • 1955: Bhagwan Das
  • 1954: C. V. Raman
  • 1954: Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
  • 1954: C. Rajagopalachari

Beyond Names: The Legacy of the Bharat Ratna

The Bharat Ratna award recipients represent the very best of India's contribution to the world. Their dedication and achievements serve as an inspiration for generations to come.

We hope you found this exploration of the Bharat Ratna Award winners list informative. As you learn more about these incredible individuals, you'll gain a deeper appreciation for the rich tapestry of Indian achievement.

Previous Post Next Post

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article/blog post are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NF360. Any content provided herein is for entertainment/informational purposes only and should not be construed as professional advice. We encourage you to consult with a qualified professional for any personal finance, health, legal, or business-related decisions.

Contact Form